Celebrity Theater – Phoenix, Arizona
by Dave Schwartz

YES brought their North American tour to the Celebrity Theater in Phoenix, Arizona.  This tour is a celebration of three classic albums from this seminal progressive rock band: “The Yes Album” (1971), “Close to the Edge” (1972) and “Going for the One” (1977).  The concert format is a rarity for the band, as it marks the first time since 1973 that YES have performed an album onstage in its entirety.

YES features bassist Chris Squire, guitarist Steve Howe, drummer Alan White, keyboardist Geoff Downes and new singer Jon Davison who replaced Benoit David.  According to a statement, David, the 45-year-old Canadian singer who appears on Yes' 2011 studio album, “Fly From Here”, was not well enough to return to work.  Davison, lead singer of Glass Hammer a progressive rock band from Chattanooga, Tennessee, has answered the call as David’s replacement.

The show was a journey through time, beginning with the most recent album, “Going for the One”.  Davison’s performance of all three albums was remarkably faithful to the original vocal arrangements of Jon Anderson.  The entire band was amazingly tight and the set list afforded opportunities for Chris Squire and Steve Howe to display their virtuosity.  Howe impressed us all with his presentation of “Clap”.  Now, well into his 60s, Howe remains an incredible guitar player.  Other standout songs included – "Starship Trooper," "Turn of the Century," "Going for the One," "Yours is No Disgrace" and of course the encore, "Roundabout."

YES have discussed plans to go into the studio in late 2013 to record a new album, their 21st studio album and the first with Jon Davison.  Trevor Horn has been mentioned as the producer and several of the band members have already begun talking about touring in 2014 to promote the album. 

For more about Yes, visit 


From the album “Closer to the Edge” – Closer to the Edge, And You and I, Siberian Khatru

From the album ”Going for the One” – Going for the One, Turn of the Century, Parallels, Wonderous Stories, Awaken

20-Minute Intermission

From the album ”The Yes Album” – Yours is No Disgrace, Clap, Starship Trooper, I’ve Seen All Good People, A Venture, Perpetual Change

Encore:  Roundabout

Return to DaBelly

© 2013   DaBelly Magazine.  All Rights Reserved.