Battleground Records/Blood Harvest Records
By: Sara Lambeth

Residing in Phoenix, Arizona Lago came into existence back in 2010.  Their music would be best described as: the bloody aftermath of a XPW (Xtreme Pro Wrestling) match between Morbid Angel and Behemoth. Yeah, they are that form of brutal, and their debut album, "Tyranny," is the epitome of death metal.

"Tyranny,” revealed itself September 16th, 2014 via  Battleground Records/Blood Harvest Records. It  was recorded and mixed by Ryan Butler at Arcane Digital Recording (Exhumed, The Funeral Pyre, Nightrage) and mastered at the hands of Dave Shirk at Sonorous Mastering (Tower of Power, Marty Friedman). It revels in the nature of its genre with eight soul choking tracks. The album captures melodic and technical elements  that harness  an eerie '90's sense of death metal  deja vu.

“Tyranny” crescendos off with the head-exploding mutation of a track, "I."  Here we are introduced to the unsettling depth of frontman Cole Jacobsen's guttural vocals that rival that from bassist and backing vocalist, Garrett Thomas. If the voices of these Satan’s helpers doesn’t grab your attention, then the inspiring fingerworks from guitarist  Manuel Dominguez surely will. The ritualistic guitar solos heard throughout the record, seem like Lago’s little gift to the listener.  The album tramples onward to my favorite song, “The Tyranny of Men." I don’t care who you are, the opening chugs, wicked drumming and shredtastic guitar solo, will make even the most jaded listener bob their head and throw up their devil horns.

“Tyranny” shares the spotlight with Mr. Metal himself,  Jonny Davy  (Job For A Cowboy) doing guest vocals  on “Bring to Ruin," and with Eric Cousineau, responsible for the  intoxicating violin and cello arrangement on “Reckoning.”  Altogether, the boys in Lago put out  an incredible album fitting to the phrase “Memento Mori.” If you have yet to listen to “Tyranny,” I'd get on that right away.

Tyranny Tracklist:

1.      I
2.      The Tyranny of Men
3.      Father of All
4.      Concede to Oblivion
5.      Coming to Cataclysm
6.      Bring to Ruin (Featuring Jonny Davy courtesy of Metal Blade Records )
7.      Reckoning (Featuring  Eric Cousineau)
8.      Pox of the Weary

Release Date: September 16th, 2014
Record Label: Battleground Records/Blood Harvest Records


Cole Jacobsen - Guitar/Vocals
Garrett Thomas - Bass/Vocals
Brian Miller - Drums
Manuel Dominguez - Guitar


Return to DaBelly

© 2015   DaBelly Magazine.  All Rights Reserved.