She Rocks Music Awards 2021
Ninth Annual She Rocks Awards plays on at NAMM

By Naughty Mickie 

It has been a hard, long journey - and still is in many cases - for women to be recognized for what they bring to the world. Things appear to be getting better in the entertainment and music industry, but it can still be a struggle to nab that job you want, get noticed for your talent and garner appreciation for the impact you make. 

The She Rocks Awards honors women who display leadership and stand out within the music industry- this includes not only the artists, but those within all aspects of music and audio. It is presented by the Women’s International Music Network (WiMN), which was founded in 2012 by Laura B. Whitmore to unite women who work within these trades.

On January 22, 2021, the Ninth Annual She Rocks Award hit the internet, beginning with John Stapleton, Senior National Artist, M.A.C Cosmetics, leading a red carpet Q&A with the honorees. Next came a pre-show countdown hosted by Yahoo Entertainment music editor Lyndsey Parker. And finally, the show opened with performances of “Ride” by Magnolia Boulevard and “Rock Show” by Lizzy Hale of Halestorm.

The event featured live sets by Cherie Currie with Suzi Quatro, Jake Hays and Nick Gilder on “Roxy Roller,” Amy Lee on piano performing the new Evanescence song, “Use My Voice,” and the Go-Go’s sharing their new single, “Club Zero.” Nancy Wilson, who was honored with the Legend Award, performed a cover of Springsteen’s “The Rising.”

“Nancy Wilson has been an inspiration to me personally and so many female musicians. I’m beyond thrilled to honor this legendary performer as we celebrate these inspiring women in music,” Whitmore said.

The evening ended with Command Sisters performing an acoustic cover of the Go-Go’s song, “We’ve Got The Beat.”

Here is the list of the Ninth Annual She Rocks Awards honorees:

The full 2021 She Rocks Awards list of honorees:

Nancy Wilson, Legend Award - co-founder of the multi-platinum, Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inducted band Heart

The Go-Go’s, Icon Award - the first all-female band to top the Billboard charts that both wrote their own songs and played their own instruments

Cherie Currie, Groundbreaker Award - founding member of the pioneering all-female rock band The Runaways

Cindy Blackman Santana, Inspire Award - respected jazz and rock drummer with Santana and Lenny Kravitz among many others

Amy Lee, Powerhouse Award - co-founder and lead vocalist for the rock band Evanescence

Margaret Cho, Dreaming Out Loud Award - Emmy and Grammy-nominated stand-up comedian, actress, fashion designer, author, and singer-songwriter

Starr Parodi, Vision Award - composer, pianist, conductor, arranger, music director and president of The Alliance For Women Film Composers

Ann Mincieli, Mad Skills Award - GRAMMY-winning recording engineer, studio coordinator for Alicia Keys and co-founder of NYC-destination studio Jungle City

Sharon Hennessey, Excellence Award - President of On-Stage, The Music People (a division of JAM) and the driving force behind the company’s two brands, On-Stage and TMP-Pro

Gwen Bethel Riley, Trailblazer Award - Senior VP of Music for Peloton Interactive

Kim Warnick, Warrior Award – Executive Director of Calling All Crows

Laura Clapp Davidson, Champion Award – singer/songwriter and Retail Market Development Lead at Shure Microphones

For more information, visit and

Return to DaBelly

© 2021   DaBelly Magazine.  All Rights Reserved.